What's the point of drying malted barley?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sonysasankan

Reaction score
Hi, new to the whole brewing scene. I'm overloading on youtube videos and keep seeing pretty much eyeryone drying the wheat / barley after sprouting. None of them explain why though. I understand its necessary if its for storage. I want to know if this step can be skipped? I mean just use the freshly sprouted grain to make your wort?

I'm no expert here but you wouldn't want the barley to actually sprout further because then the sprout would be using up the starches for it's own growth rather than by us for brewing. So you dry to stop the barely from sprouting and so that it can be stored without spoiling.

When it's sprouting, it's consuming stuff in the grain that you want. Drying the malts stop that process at the ideal time for getting from it what we want from it. Otherwise it'd go past the point where there wouldn't be anything left useful to a brewer. Remember it's alive and changing into something else.

Also, moisture would let all the microbial bad stuff, molds, fungi, yeasts, bacteria and other things that that clings to the grains become active and grow to a toxic level. Moldy grain isn't a great taste and indeed aflatoxin is a real thing to avoid.

Kilning adds some character to the malt. And trying to mill freshly malted moist grain would get pretty gummy in the mill I'd think. But I don't really know. Some of the people that actually do their own malts will be along soon.

Last edited: