What's going on with my fermentation? Done?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gone_fishing

Reaction score
Brewing Monk in the Yunk Belgian Tripel recipe from Keystone Homebrew in PA. Brewed on the 15th. Had a blow out and had to remove airlock and use siphon tube for blow off tube.

Stats:
Recipe Actual
OG 1.085 1.080 7/15 (Brew day)
1st 1.020 7/29
FG 1.018 1.022 7/31

http://www.keystonehomebrew.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Manayunk-Belgian-Tripel.pdf

I am not good at reading the hydrometer. My wife is the scientist, I'm just a dumb, drunk sales guy, so reading instruments isn't my strong suit.

Over the weekend it cooled off here so we turned off the AC and opened up the windows. The next day it warmed up and I heard it bubble a few times. on the 29th when I opened up the bucket I found a lot of thick foam. Left it 2 days and today it's still there. What do I do?

32qo.jpg

Thanks folks. I know I am a noob but I am a quick learner. I'll just enjoy my Troegs Nugget Nectar while I await advice. :mug:

I don't understand a couple of things... first, are you saying 8/.../.. as in august? Do you mean July? as in, this month?

Are you saying that your gravity actually rose after the first time you checked??

Looks like it needs another week or more to me. Especially with those numbers.

I don't know if the numbers are even close to accurate tho... according to the numbers his gravity rose from the 29th the 31st, right? 1.020 to 1.022?

J187 said:
I don't know if the numbers are even close to accurate tho... according to the numbers his gravity rose from the 29th the 31st, right? 1.020 to 1.022?

He said he's not good at reading the hydrometer. Probably a mistake and still at 1.020.