What software package to choose ??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

redrider736

Reaction score
New to Home Brewing, have a million and one questions.
I am wanting to jump right into All Grain Brewing from the start and learn my way.

I have to start somewhere so. 1st post, 1st question.

What Brewing software package should I choose ??

Beersmith, Beer Tools Pro, or Pro Mash ??? ( Please don't say there are others)

There are indeed others. Brewtarget is open source and free. I bought Beersmith and was just kinda getting used to the previous version when the new one came out. Now I'm lost and have been running the old one for fear of mistakes. There appears to be quite a few bugs in version 2 but I'm no expert.

Hopville.com - it's free and everywhere ! I can check it at a buddies house or on my phone ... Probably not as full featured, but good enough for me :)

I started using BeerSmith late last year, soon after I started brewing.

I've made the transition to v2.0 pretty easily. Sure, it took a little getting used to, but that's to be expected whenever a major overhaul is performed on an application.

There are enough enhancements in BeerSmith 2.0 to make it well worth moving to. For one thing, when you change your mash temp, it adjusts the FG estimate. This was not present in the previous release. It does mean you need to record your actual mash temps now, and/or make sure you hit what you're calling for. But, it does mean you'll be able to have a better idea of what to expect in the final product.