What original pieces of equipment do you still have?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grossy

Reaction score
I started brewing 3 years ago with a Extract Brewing kit that I bought off Craigslist.

Since then I have gone to all-grain 10-gallon keggles, and have now gone to a 20 gallon system.

Still have and use my original 8-gallon kettle (as a grant).

Still have my original hydrometer.

Brewing about four years and moved to all grain about two years ago. I still use the original 5 gal kettle to heat strike water and use the fermenting and bottling bucket that came with the kit. Still doing 5 gallon batches. Tubing, racking cane, bottle filler and spigot have been replaced. Hydrometer has been replaced four or five times due to clumsiness.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

At 17 years, I still have my original carboy. Probably because I quit using carboys! Also still have original kettle and bottling bucket.

I've replaced most of my stuff over the years, but I actually still have my original hydrometer and floating thermometer from 1998. I use a thermapen and refractometer on brew days now, but I do get out the hydrometer to test FG (when I bother to do it). I've also still got one of my original glass carboys. I must have put 200 batches through that guy over the years.

I'm still using the same kettles and mash tun that I was using around 1993. There's been some things added to them in that time, but the same vessels. I still use my malt mill from back then and have the burner I started with, although I rarely use that burner anymore.

I've been brewing 8 years. Still use my original buckets, bottles, wine thief, and air locks. I also still have my original BK but I only use it when decocting.