What kind of Sparge Arm?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

canmorebrewguy

Reaction score
Hello All, I am looking for advice on the sparge arm assembly. If you could go with any sparge set up what would you go with? I have the ability to fabricate any style but I have zero experience with any. I am planning to use a Triclamp ferrule on the MLT for sparging if that helps.
Cheers,
Todd

I've tried a few. Now, I just use a silicone hose laid on top of the bed, just like Kal uses on his electric setup. Efficiency remains high and it's easy to clean and maintain.

I've been looking over the forum for an answer to this question too.

Holy crap wait... is it that easy? I just finished my first all grain batch and my only "wish-I-had-better-gear" was my sparge arm (back of a spoon). That seems like a simple and efficient solution. Have you used this one much?

Yes, you don't, in my experience, need a fancy sparge system. They are cool, I give you that. But I'd rather spend my money elsewhere. I float at least 1" on top of my grain, so how effectively you "drizzle" the water onto that is IMO not critical. :mug:

This + this is what I'm installing in my new system (this weekend).

I used to use this, and it worked well enough, but the last year or so I've been strictly batch sparging.

Ive been looking into adding that as a sparge arm from Bobby as well. Currently I just pump hot water from the HLT to the MLT and let it drain into a plastic colander to give the "trickle" affect.

I've used several different types. Some that spin like a helicopter blade and some straight pieces of pipe with holes drilled in them with different hole patterns to cover the grain bed differently etc.