what happens if you mash too high for too long?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

angryyoungman

Reaction score
So I normally use a cooler mash tun, but I had too much grain so I did a BIAB straight in the kettle. It's a recipe I found on here, "fresh squeezed ipa" with a little different hop schedule. To get to the point, my stove can be finicky. I walked away for like 15 minutes, temps rose to about 170, I took it off the burner, dropped some ice cubes, maintained temps around the 148- 154 range for the rest of the mash. I measured the pre boil gravity and chalked it up to human error (I'm a newbie, this is like my fourth AG). Then I actually checked my hydrometer (it's was fine) and checked the post boil OG and it was high. Like 1.103 high. So I am curious what has hapened. I was thinking that the starches converted into like crazy non- fermentable sugars due to the high temps and that I'm going to end up with a really high FG or zero fermentation. I also fully expect an astringent brew, but I'm stubborn and will trick myself into drinking it because I don't want to dump it. Any opinions though? Why has my very regular IPA gone into Imperial IPA territory?

With a post boil OG like that,I'm thinking you got a lot of boil off. I stopped trying to maintain mash temp on the stove. Just wouldn't work. So I use my heavy thinsulate & synthetic goose down lined winter hunting coat to wrap the BK/MT in during the mash. It gains one degree over the hour mash,never looses any either. My beers come out better as a result of that.

You will have a lot less fermentables in the wort so the FG will be higher than anticipated.

It sounds as though your boil off was a lot higher than anticipated as well resulting in a more concentrated wort.