What features would you want in your ideal Brewing Software program?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trboyden

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am an IT Manager/Systems Engineer/Software Hacker by trade, and after observing many posts from people not absolutely in love with their brewing software, I figured I would throw out a thread and ask for my fellow homebrewers' feedback on what they would like to see/get out of their ideal brewing software program?

Below are some starting points for the conversation. Current software authors should feel free to snag the feedback and improve their own programs. :p

What platform/device would you prefer the software to target?

What are the essential features every brewing software program should have?

What is lacking from current applications that would be a killer feature to you?

Would an open source approach to development be something you would be interested in contributing to (with development participation), or would you just prefer an application author to do all the work?

Do you find value in web/mobile-based companion sites, typically used for recipe storage/sharing?

Do you feel there should be any standards developed, such as file formats for application data to allow importing/exporting from various applications and services?

Free is always a wonderful price for a product, but what would you be willing to pay for your ideal brewing software program?

i am an it manager/systems engineer/software hacker by trade...

Me too :)

what platform/device would you prefer the software to target?

Windows / Android / Apple / Linux

what are the essential features every brewing software program should have?