What do you want from your software, that it doesn't do currently?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhamilton

Reaction score
I'm a software developer and I've started making my own little app for personal use. I've toyed around with the major software offerings, and I'm curious about any features that may be missing which you think would be useful?

So other than brewing the beer for you -- what would you like to see from any new software?

There isn't really a good stepped-starter calculator, that I'm aware of. Sean Terrill came up with a way to trick mrmalty into calculating stepped starters, but it's a workaround.

I feel like the place that current brewing software falls down is moving us into a future where we use smart phone/devices for the brew day and a computer for planning/post-brewing stuff. I currently use BeerSmith and have suggested this on his forum, but I'll para-phrase it here.

I want better brew-day features. Right now the software tends to focus on planning and not on the process during the day. For example there's a Notes section but not broken down by the process. So I tend to keep a log in the notes section. But if I want to see all of my past "mashing" notes I have to look back through other notes in other brews. Stuff like that.

I can envision a tool that allows me to pull up my recipe and start the brew on my android. The program would then give me a "wizard" like interface where I could check off all of the various steps of my brew day. Weigh out 10 lbs of Marris otter? check; heat 11 gals of sparge water? check; add Irish Moss? - oh almost forgot that one, you get the picture.