Water report shows huge swings in hardness

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BandonBrewingCo

Reaction score
Hi,

My water report shows a relatively stable PH variation between 7.73 - 8.29 (currently lying at 8.02) but my hardness is showing huge swings between 6.03-18.4 in German Degrees of Hardness. My latest reading was at the low end of that at 6.41°dH.

Is this something I need to worry about? Should I take the middle range for Brun water? As a beginner I only want to add some lactic acid to get my PH down so not sure what to do.

Thanks in advance

My water report for reference (left: current readings, right: previous result range)

mIxkMVk.png

Edit: The brun inputs:

6B89Mep.png

Last edited:
You will be acidifying to remove carbonate hardness (alkalinity as CaCO3), and not general hardness, so swings in general hardness may not be an issue of serious concern here.

It looks like your alkalinity ranges (spans) from 96 ppm to 142 ppm. Bicarb would then range (span) from 117 ppm to 173 ppm.

Also for those wondering, we would most commonly refer to 'general hardness' as 'total hardness' here in the States.

Also, total hardness is not TDS.

You should be able to rearrange the following formula to determine your waters Ca++ ppm:

Total Hardness = (2.5*Ca++) + (4.12 * Mg++)

Testing this I get:

(6.41 x 17.848) = (2.5*Ca++) + (4.12 x 12.4)

(114.406 - 51.088)/2.5 = Ca++

Ca++ = 25.3 ppm

This differs from the Ca++ figure of 45.8 ppm that you are using. Perhaps I'm not doing this correctly.

I
You should be able to rearrange the following formula to determine your waters Ca++ ppm:

Total Hardness = (2.5*Ca++) + (4.12 * Mg++)

Testing this I get:

(6.41 x 17.848) = (2.5*Ca++) + (4.12 x 12.4)

(114.406 - 51.088)/2.5 = Ca++

Ca++ = 25.3 ppm