Water report jargon?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alex4mula

Reaction score
Looking to move to all grain in near future I started reading this water article here (https://www.homebrewtalk.com/importance-brewing-water.html). I found this water report from my city (https://www.canton-mi.org/DocumentCenter/View/7019/2017-Water-Quality-Report) but other than Sodium and Chlorine I couldn't identify anything else. Can someone help me define each of the terms below? What to look for? I have been using spring and distilled water for my extract brews but would like to start to understand this a little better. Thanks.

Reverse Osmosis (Starting Water)
Ca Mg Na SO4 Cl HCO3
0 0 0 0 0 0

I cannot help a lot with defining terms as I am a newbie with water chemistry, other than mapping the symbols to the article you linked, which has descriptions:
  • Ca = Calcium
  • Mg = Magnesium
  • SO4 = Sulphate
  • Cl = Chloride
  • Na = Sodium
  • HCO3 = Bicarbonate
Yeah, the report that my local water system puts out does not have much of the info needed for brewing. They are more interesting in reporting the potentially unsafe contaminates (like lead) than stuff like Calcium. I have some info that was passed along to me, but as I am trying to learn water chemistry I figured I should get an analysis done on my water. I just ordered a test kit from Ward Labs today..it is around $40 for the kit that includes shipping and a bottle, but I think you can mail in your own filled bottle and save a few dollars.