Water Profile...Price Check - Trillium Fort Point Pale Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tricerahops220

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am still new to the whole altering the water profile thing using brewing salts. I am attempting to brew a Trillium Fort Point Pale Ale Clone which will be dry hopped with Galaxy.

As my situation stands now, I do not have an RO machine (hope to get one here shortly) so I am stuck starting with distilled water for now. This has proven to have some difficulties so far but I have had some success with it.

So based around distilled water, I am starting with 0 ppm in all of the mineral counts, the image attached is what I have come up with for salt additions on Bru'n Water. My target numbers are below. I cannot seem to get the Calcium number up to 100 ppm without setting the Sulfate or Chloride over my target of 125 ppm. Now I know that the Sulfate:Chloride ratio doesn't have to be 1:1 but with this being a somewhat bitter pale ale due to the hops, I don't to throw the ratio too far off.

Target Numbers:
Calcium: 100 ppm
Magnesium: 18 ppm
Sodium: 30 ppm
Chloride: 125 ppm
Sulfate: 125 ppm
Bicarbonate: 40 ppm

FPPA Water Profile.PNG

Last edited:
1.) Your image isn't showing

2.) To hit those target numbers with 4 gallons of distilled mash water you would need:

Gypsum: 0.85 g/gal
Calcium Chloride: 0.5 g/gal
Magnesium Chloride: 0.2 g/gal
Canning Salt: 0.14 g/gal
Baking Soda: 0.21 g/gal

Of course you would be missing 12 ppm magnesium but you could always add magnesium phosphate dibasic to reach your magnesium goals.

3.) The target numbers listed don't make a balanced profile (Cation/Anion).

4.) Chasing profiles and matching numbers exactly isn't really necessary to make good beer.