Water from distilled for a Porter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

str1p3s

Reaction score
Does anyone see problems with this? This is very different from any other way I've treated my brewing water.

I'm using baking soda AND pickling lime to keep the sodium levels and calcium levels in check and all the sulphate is coming from Epsom salt. I've never done either of those before and I'm looking for some opinions.

Thanks!

Attachments

• grain_bill_tab.jpg
    grain_bill_tab.jpg
    113.1 KB · Views: 51
  • water_adjustment_tab.jpg
    water_adjustment_tab.jpg
    191.5 KB · Views: 53
You're using the free version of Bru'n Water and the sodium and calcium levels are for the mashing water only. When the low alkalinity sparging water is added to the overall wort, those levels will be substantially reduced. The supporter's version reports the kettle wort concentrations and that would help reduce your anxiety about the amount of sodium you're adding.

The other consideration is that sodium is actually very welcome in Porter. The Porter brewers in London obtained their brewing water from wells and that water does have fairly significant sodium content. I've brewed Porters with only baking soda as my alkalinity source and they were tasty.

What's your tap water like? You could most likely make it work for this beer without having to start with distilled water (unless is tastes bad).