Ward Labs Water Report for Montgomery, IL

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ABrown518

Reaction score
I just got my water report back this evening, so I wanted to share it with others here that live in Montgomery. I know there are at least a few other brewers here from Montgomery. Also looking for any general observations on the report from those that have the knowledge. I am just getting into water chemistry, but have already learned a lot from this forum, and I just picked up the new Water book by Palmer. So any additional info anyone can offer would be much appreciated.

pH - 9.1
Total Dissolved Solids - 286
Electrical Cond - 0.48
Cations/Anions, me/L - 4.3/4.6

All PPM:
Sodium, Na - 49
Potassium, K - 11
Calcium, Ca - 6
Magnesium, Mg - 19
Total Hardness, CaCO3 - 94
Nitrate, NO3-N - 0.2
Sulfate, SO4-S - 16
Chloride, Cl - 65
Carbonate, CO3 - 12
Bicarbonate, HCO3 - 79
Total Alkalinity, CaCO3 - 86

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f36/help-my-water-372370/

This is the water report for me in Oswego, just down the street from you. I'm surprised they are that far off considering our municipalities are drawing from nearby wells.

My Bicarb level is really high so it's tough for me to get my pH down for light colored beers. I find that using a high ratio of distilled water to tap water helps me lower the alkalinity and brew pale ales, IPAs, and lagers closer to style.

At $8 for 5 gallons of distilled it gets pricey fast though.

Wow, I wouldn’t have thought the difference would be so big between the two either. Where do you get your distilled water? I picked some up for this past weekend’s brew at Wally on Orchard/rt 30 for $0.88 per gallon (as long as you don’t mind going to Wal-Mart).