Want to try a different yeast this fall

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cyto

Reaction score
I have been brewing for 25 years, all grain for 15. Been using Fermentis Safeale US-05 for the past 10 or 12 years. Lately I have been using one pack at the beginning of brewing season and harvesting. Been thinking of trying something different, just to do something different.

I used Danstar Nottingham many years ago with good results and am thinking of going back to it.

Is there another dry yeast that I should consider? I make brown to dark ales and IPAs.

Thanks.

I have been brewing for 25 years, all grain for 15. Been using Fermentis Safeale US-05 for the past 10 or 12 years. Lately I have been using one pack at the beginning of brewing season and harvesting. Been thinking of trying something different, just to do something different.

I used Danstar Nottingham many years ago with good results and am thinking of going back to it.

Is there another dry yeast that I should consider? I make brown to dark ales and IPAs.

Thanks.
I used Nottingham a couple of brews ago and is very active. it blew the bung out of my FV
made good beer tho 🍺🍺

S-04 seems like it would be right up your alley. I think it would probably even work better than S-05 in darker beers, and it is very popular for IPAs right now. You'll get a touch of fruitiness from the yeast, and it will accentuate the malt more. It may finish a little higher than S-05.

You didn't mention lagers, but Saflager 34/70 (Weihenstephan) is an excellent dry yeast. If you are intimated by lagers, 34/70 is hard to mess up. It's also cheap, I usually pitch two packs and ferment at 50-54. Comes out great.

I'm also in Birmingham and the weather right now really calls for some nice pale lager if you ask me.