Vienna Malt and protein rest and modification

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Facinerous

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
So today I was trying to think of a new recipe to brew. I had put an irish red recipe together a while back but it wasn't quite what I had been hoping for. So for a change up and new recipe I decided to try vienna malt a the primary malt in my grain bill. I have never done this before, I have only used 2-row, so I just have a simple question.

I didn't realize that vienna malt is a 6-row malt. Or at least that is what I read in a malt descriptions web page. So if that is wrong let me know.

Also, and the leading reason I am creating this thread is to ask. I used beer smith to help me create the recipe. I do this just to give everything a look over and see where the estimated srm, ibu values and the like would come out at. When I click over to the brewing part it calls out for a protein rest which I have never seen beer smith call for in a brewing process.

So the question is, do you recommend a protein rest when using vienna malt as a base malt? I'm just intrigued why beer smith would put this in the mash process if the general consensus is otherwise.

0 min - Protein Rest (122.0 F for 30 min, 2 min rise)
Add 16 qt of water at 128 F
32 min - Saccharification (152.0 F for 45 min, 15 min rise)
Heat to 152 over 15 min
1:32 hours - Mash Out (168 F for 10 min, 10 min rise)
1:52 hourse - Mash complete
Fly sparge with 21.59 qt water at 168 F

Secondary. Doesn't that seem like a lot of water to sparge with? It seem to me in my little brain like the initial 16 quarts and the 21 sparge quarts should be swapped. Thats just tertiary to my primary question though.

Thanks

This is what I gleaned from The Brewmaster's Bible: