Very quick question - why add sugar?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kilgoretrou_t

Reaction score
Hi all

My second thread/question.

Why does the Coopers Mexican Cerveza kit not come with sugar in it? I made mine with 1kg of sugar. Which is what I was advised to do. No grumbles there.

I looked on Wikipedia to see about beer brewing and it doesn't mention anywhere about adding sugar. From what I can tell the basic method is to add yeast to a malt. The malt itself contains the sugar. So why are we adding sugar?

I am a beginner so forgive the ignorance. I expect the adding of sugar is simply because thats part of the chosen recipe. I havent tried it but presumably beer can be made from just malt+yeast?

Are Coopers selling it like this because they know people add all sorts of types of sugar and stuff to their malt kits? Or cant they add the sugar into the malt in the first place? When it comes to a Mexican Cerveza product, they could easily have 5 versions instead of 1..

Thx
KT

The term "malt" generally refers to malted barley grain. I believe (but could be wrong) that you're referring to malt extract.

Plain table sugar is often added to a brew to lighten body, increase alcohol, and help better attenuate a beer. Why none was included might be because it's considered such a common ingredient that it's not worth including???

The malt extract indeed is the bulk of the sugars used in brewing, but you can achieve different end characteristics by using some percentage of plain table sugar in a brew as well.

I can see where a "Mexican Cerveza" kit might benefit from the use of plain sugar.