Completely new to brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkerbi

Reaction score
I am completely new to all of this, have never done it before but am really interested in learning how to brew my own beer or make my own wine. I want to make light, summer ales with more fruity flavors or winter ales with spice flavors and little to no bitterness. I don't really want to buy a kit so what would i need from like Lowes or something to get started? Thanks in advance for any help!

Are you looking to test the waters and do extract beers or are you looking to jump on with both feet and do all grain? This will affect what you need to buy.

bkerbi said:
I am completely new to all of this, have never done it before but am really interested in learning how to brew my own beer or make my own wine. I want to make light, summer ales with more fruity flavors or winter ales with spice flavors and little to no bitterness. I don't really want to buy a kit so what would i need from like Lowes or something to get started? Thanks in advance for any help!

Perhaps you should start with a book.....

"The Joy of Homebrewing" by Charlie Papazian will get you going in the right direction.

Then visit Www.midwestsupplies. or a local homebrew shop.

That is very true and a point missed. Checking out local brew stores is a great way to start, some offer beginners brewing classes( that's how I got my start). Another book to take a look at is "How to brew" by Jon Palmer. Between the class I took and that book I have not brewed a bad batch yet. (I am probably about due for one though)

Are you looking to test the waters and do extract beers or are you looking to jump on with both feet and do all grain? This will affect what you need to buy.