Using Honey

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dinokath

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Morning all!

Doing a beer this weekend that I hope will taste like Hopslam. The recipe I am using calls for 2lbs of honey added during the last 5 minutes of the boil. I am using US05 which should attenuate at around 81% or so.

Using Beersmith 3, the software is calling for nearly 87% attenuation. When I back out the honey, it drops down to 80%. I have never used honey in a beer before, so I did a little reading and it seems honey will almost completely ferment out and boost attenuation numbers.

I want to get to around 1.016 or thereabouts so I can have a little of that residual sweetness/honey flavor that Hopslam is known but I also want to keep the ABV right in that 9-10% range.

My plan, that I would like some opinions on, is to boost the grain bill by a couple pounds using pale malt to boost the OG and then cold crashing the batch and effectively stopping fermentation when AA gets to 78%.

Does that sound like a plan? You all think that's what Bell's does? I usually just let the yeast finish up where they finish up but I don't want to dry this beer out. Thoughts? Thanks in advance!

First off, adding honey to the boil is a waste of honey, better off adding it to the fermenter when fermentation is slowing. That way you retain more honey flavor in the end product.

Honey malt leaves a honey-like flavor. IMO, more than most honey does.

Honey will mostly ferment out, as it consists mostly of simple sugars. (Intentionally) under-attenuating is risky, especially if you're bottling, it may (no, it will) cause bottle bombs. If you're kegging you may get away with it, but it needs to be kept cold, like 40F.