Using a hop spider, or filter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PADave

Reaction score
I’m just a newbie but I bought and used a hop spider on my last batch which was an American pale ale with 3oz of hop pellets and it works pretty good at keeping the sludge out of the fermenter. I really don’t think it hurt the flavor of the beer any, it taste great but I’m curious what more experienced brewers have to say as well.

There has been some discussion on the topic, and some commenters have suggested that there is a slight decrease in hop utilization in a spider, vs. tossing the hops directly in the kettle.

I use a nylon hops bag suspended in a DIY spider, and have adjusted Beersmith to compensate for a slight loss in utilization. I have to use a little more hops, but I think using the spider is worth it, as it reduces the amount of hops sludge in the fermenter. With that slight adjustment I find that bitterness and aroma turn out well in my beers.

Check out Utah Biodiesel, as they have a 300 micron spider.

I use a hop spider and make successful hoppy beers frequently. It took me a few brew days to adjust my water volume appropriately though. I had to bump up my total volume of water to accommodate for when I pull the hop spider out of the brew kettle. Water goes with it no matter how long I try to let it drain. Cheers!

There has been some discussion on the topic, and some commenters have suggested that there is a slight decrease in hop utilization in a spider, vs. tossing the hops directly in the kettle.