Using a cooler as a mash tun?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brews-n-Blues

Reaction score
Hi All!!
I'm new to homebrewing,
with 1 successful 5 gal Brew under my belt!
Can anyone explain how you can use an igloo cooler as a mash tun, without melting the bottom of the PLASTIC cooler? I see pics of the cooler conversions and the cooler setting on top of the propane burner, but nothing about putting fire to the cooler's plastic bottom??
Just curious about using different equipment?
Cheers!!
🍺😎

That's what I was thinking?
But how is a cooler used for a mash tun?
The mash tun is heated to boiling temps?
Am I missing something?
I don't get this?

The vessels are upside down when not in use.
IMG_1255.jpeg

That's what I was thinking?
But how is a cooler used for a mash tun?
The mash tun is heated to boiling temps?
Am I missing something?
I don't get this?

First, you need to get yourself a false bottom or a filter ( many people use a cpvc or stainless mesh). Next you put in about a gallon of boiling water to preheat the mash tun (this helps with keeping temperatures regulated and lessen heat loss.) Next, you get rid of the boiling water, add your strike water and grain and put the cover on and leave it for 60-90 minutes.

This is how you use a cooler as a mash tun! Any other questions I'll be here all week:bigmug:

Hi All!!
I'm new to homebrewing,
with 1 successful 5 gal Brew under my belt!
Can anyone explain how you can use an igloo cooler as a mash tun, without melting the bottom of the PLASTIC cooler? I see pics of the cooler conversions and the cooler setting on top of the propane burner, but nothing about putting fire to the cooler's plastic bottom??
Just curious about using different equipment?
Cheers!!
🍺😎