Underpitching yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

waitej02

Reaction score
I have been brewing for close to 10 years and have brewed 100+ batches. If I am not reusing yeast, I have always pitched 1 vial, smackpack or dry packet for 5 gallons (yield-about 5.5 into the carboy). 90% of what I brew are hoppy beers 6.5-7.5%. My son sent me a yeast calculator as we were brewing the last batch and it appears that 1 dry pack (04 or 05) only does maybe 4-4.5%.

All batches (prior was 6.5 with FG 1.012 in 16 days at 66F) hit FG <1.015. I have given several beers to professional brewers and never have been given feedback on off flavors from stressed yeast. What flavor characteristics should I be worried about?

I’ve never had an issue with underpitching with liquid yeast. Only time I’ve had issues was with US-05 dry. In those cases my FG was way too high so it was obvious what the problem was.

What flavor characteristics should I be worried about?

Only severe under pitching tend to cause high terminal gravities or problematic contaminations. But you may get more off flavors such as esters, fusels and even diacetyl. But it depends on the type of yeast and conditions whether u will notice the difference. Below there is a link that describes it in more detail.
https://wyeastlab.com/pitch-rates

Underpitching can lead to contamination (variety of weird flavors) and acetaldehyde (apple, latex, pumpkin). If you're not experiencing long lag times >24 hours, no contamination or odd apple-like flavors, then either you are not actually underpitching despite what anyone else tells you, or hops are covering up any off-flavors.