Trying to understand sour

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DocDriza

Reaction score
Hey, I'm looking to brew a sour beer. What I would like to do is brew a Belgian blonde again that came out really good. I would use WLP550. When complete I would then rack into a secondary, then add WLP677 into the secondary and let it do its thing for the next 9-12 months. Does that sound like something that would work or is there something I'm missing?

that would work. I usually turn my sours around in less than half that time, but its all about how quickly it develops. After packaging, it will still evolve over time

im not a sour expert. but 677 is just lacto. wouldnt the OP want some brett and pedio as well or can you get a good sour with just lacto after primary with a sacc.

if it were me id brew up the blonde ale you mentioned, keep the IBUs somewhat low and pitch a blend like 655 or 665. no starter, no additional sacc. maybe add some dregs along the way.

im not a sour expert. but 677 is just lacto. wouldnt the OP want some brett and pedio as well or can you get a good sour with just lacto after primary with a sacc.

if it were me id brew up the blonde ale you mentioned, keep the IBUs somewhat low and pitch a blend like 655 or 665. no starter, no additional sacc. maybe add some dregs along the way.

good point. I didnt look it up

IME, you always want brett in the mix to help clean up any nasty products from teh bacteria.

I would try to get the WLP655 the Sour Mix. It has everything you need to make a good aged sour beer. I would also make a starter out of it since it has 2 yeasts and a bacteria in the same size of vial that you would normally use for a single yeast.

Another thing to consider is the IBU's. Lacto is inhibited by too many IBU's