Tracking mead fermentation progress?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hvjackson

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Making my first mead now! I've done many homebrew beer batches but I have no experience with wine or mead.

Original sugar reading was 24.2 Brix.
I just took another reading (2 days after pitching) and got 22 Brix.

Using this online calculator with those values:
http://www.brewersfriend.com/refractometer-calculator/

... and it told me I have a negative amount of alcohol...?

How do I know when it's done? I know with beer that when you get under FG 1.02 it's probably winding down, but what is the analogous "done" point for Brix?

Quick answer, it's done when it's done....I don't do Brix, so hopefully someone can help you with that.... I use hydrometer to read the original specific gravity, and check it a few times along the line. Mead takes a LOT longer than beer to fully ferment, generally speaking. Relax for a while. Mead is oh so easy to make, just have to be patient. I've got probably 15 gallons that are still in carboys over a year....they're done (verified by a few consecutive hydrometer readings of 0.996), just bulk aging. Like i said, it's done when it decides to be done....could be a month , or several, if not even longer...depending on recipe and fermentation conditions. Could you post up yer recipe? And, at 2 days, I wouldn't be touching it unless you're doing staggered nutrient additions.....relax

Yeah I know it's going to take a while, I'm in no rush. I just thought I would take a Brix reading while I had the airlock open to add more nutrients and re-oxygenate. Since I've never done a mead I'm trying to be diligent about record-keeping.