Too much phosphoric acid???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCasey1992

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am working on my Belgian Wit recipe and am currently working on the water calculations. Per the Bru'n water recommendations, I am trying to get my mash pH into the 5.2-5.3 range but to do so, it looks like I need around 100 ml of phosphoric acid. More specifically, my calculations suggest that 100 ml will get me to 5.26. Does this sound reasonable? To me, this seems like a lot of acid but I am relatively new to water chemistry.

I have attached my recipe in case that helps you answer my question. Additionally, I am using 100% RO water and my phosphoric acid is 10% strength. Thanks in advance for your help!

Cheers!
Casey

upload_2018-11-29_22-5-24.png

100mL is reasonable for a grist with a high percentage of unmalted grains. Personally, I aim for 5.4 or a bit higher for a wit though. Why the 5.2 to 5.3 target?

100mL is reasonable for a grist with a high percentage of unmalted grains. Personally, I aim for 5.4 or a bit higher for a wit though. Why the 5.2 to 5.3 target?

Thanks for the quick response! Per the Bru'n water spreadsheet: "Tart or crisp styles may benefit from a mash pH range of 5.2 to 5.3". I guess I could be misunderstanding the style guide but I figured a witbier would fit that description.

Thanks for the quick response! Per the Bru'n water spreadsheet: "Tart or crisp styles may benefit from a mash pH range of 5.2 to 5.3". I guess I could be misunderstanding the style guide but I figured a witbier would fit that description.

Witbier would fit that description (tart), but I'd still aim for 5.4.