Third 1 gallon batch - thoughts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BoxMan

Reaction score
Hey, all. So, I just threw together my 3rd batch, thought I'd see what you all thought.

3/4 gal water
4 lbs clover honey
1.75 - 2 lbs strawberries (not an exact measurement)
lalvin D47
nutrient and energizer, accordingly.

I'm know I'm a total noob when it comes to mead making, but I hope this works out. I'm super paranoid about cleanliness, I think I sanitized my stuff like 2-3 times..

I just moved into a place where they grow organic fruit, so I had access to a 5 pound bag of frozen strawberries. That's why it was hard for me to measure exactly. It weighed around 5 pounds when I started, and weighs around 3 pounds now. Then, of course, backsweeten however I find it necessary.

I plan on racking it over another pound or two of the berries for secondary, with a little bit of honey / water to bring it up to level.

OG was around 1.13.

So, thoughts, critique, etc?

Also, I'm definitely going to embark on a few more 1 gallon adventures in the future - any good suggestions?

Sounds like it'll be a tasty melomel. I like to add fruit to both primary & secondary too, I think it adds depth to the flavour in the end product. You get the fermented fruit flavours from primary & the non-fermented fruit flavours from secondary/tertiary.

As for suggestions...
Since it's winter & fruit may be more difficult to get fresh, you might try some medium show meads from different varietal honeys. There is a BIG difference between orange blossom honey & alfalfa honey, just as there is a BIG difference between mesquite honey & acacia honey.