Thinking about switching to kegging...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shaynsawchuk

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about six months now and started with a bottling setup. I recently moved to a new place and it's a bit smaller than the old one. I no longer have a laundry sink to wash bottles in and don't really have the room to store all the beer! The bottling process and fiddling with carbonation levels holds very little appeal to me, but I do it out of necessity. I live in Canada so buying/building a kegerator is a bit of an expense. A convertible fridge would run me around $250, and a conversion kit (including a CO2 tank, 2 used cornies, cleaning supplies and a growler filler) about $600. I largely brew largely session ales for personal consumption but do a few high gravity beers every now and again and I feel like I would still want to bottle those. Obviously there are advantages and disadvantages to both sides and was hoping for some members opinions to see if I missed anything!

Lets see.

Cooling source - Check
Kegs - Check
Conversion Kit (hoses, regulator, CO2 tank, QD's) - Check
Cleaning supplies - Check
Growler filler - bonus

Yeah, you have all you need for a setup there. My only advice is get minimal 10-12 foot beer lines (on a homebrew scale it seems to give the best pour) and in my opinion the set and forget carbonation method is best.

Once you start kegging, you'll never go back.

You will have only 1 bottle to wash instead of 48. Opening a bottle of homebrew is cool, but there's no better feeling than flicking the tap handle and watching your glass fill while admiring the nice creamy head.

---