Tell me about grain mills....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DVCNick

Reaction score
I'm about ready to make the jump from buying kits to buying ingredients in bulk and tweaking my own recipes.

Is it worth springing the extra cash for a 3 roller?
What really makes a quality mill?

I want to buy once/cry once if needed, and not feel like I need to upgrade later. But if 2 rollers are doing the same job, of course I don't want to spend extra for nothing.

You will find a strong following for the cereal killer for a budget mill on this forum and the monster mill if your not worried about the money so much. 2 vs 3 ……. I have no experience with 3 but 2 crush my grain into powder so what could 3 offer me 2 is not.

I use a cereal killer

I have a 3 roller Kegco mill that I've been using for 3+ years, and it has not given me any problems. But I don't think it is any superior to the 2 roller Cereal Killer, which seems to be the best value on the market.

Thanks for the info so far guys... one more question, are there any mills out there that are NOT easily convertible to be run by a drill? Definitely want that ability. Preferably just take the handle off and chuck on the drill.

Is the cereal killer any different than the generic chinese ones which look exactly the same? Just wondering since I've tried a few of the generics for testing, and they were ok. Very small diameter though, so it depends on what you want from your mill and how much you want to spend.

I'm running a herms with constant recirculation so this time around (had a MM3-Pro a few years ago) and went for a mattmill kompakt due to the large diameter rollers since they are better for keeping the husks more intact.

I believe the CK has bearings where the chinese knockoffs have brass bushings.