Taking my brewing setup to the next level

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edecker

Reaction score
Good morning fellow homebrewers!

I’m looking for some guidance/advice. I’ve been homebrewing on and off for about three years now, and I’d like to step my game up into making it a more regular habit. Due to space and climate constraints, I’d really like to transition into being able to brew 5g all-grain batches indoors.

I have pretty much everything I need for your run-of-the-mill brew day: a 10g kettle, a solid mash tun, a nice HLT, a good brewing thermometer, etc. What I don’t have is the technical savvy or tools to install heating elements, transfer pumps, or any advanced analytics tools.

Does anyone have any guidance or recommendations about how they made the transition from outdoor, propane brewing to more advanced indoor brewing? Would the intermediary of building a tower or two-tier setup be advisable before trying to convert to all electric? I’m open to spending some money on this project, I’m just not sure where to start.

My opinion is decide what you want to build, and build it. YouTube has every question answered and technique you'll need. I once rebuild a 4L80E transmission out of my work truck from a youTube video. No kidding, and it worked. Just do it. As Henry Ford said,
“Whether you think you can, or you think you can't--you're right.”

So the know-how you have, experience you'll gain. Tools are another matter. Buy 'em as you need them. Find solutions. If you can't afford a welder you can cut your parts and bring them to someone to weld for you.

At the risk of sounding like Deepak Chopra, you can build anything that you believe you can build.