Surprisingly, We Made Beer!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Have you ever had one of those brew days where nothing went right? Guess what? So has everyone else! I have been brewing since 2009 and I still have more of those days than not. It seems to happen more often when introducing new equipment, which changes your normal configuration.
I recently converted my entire setup to use camlock fittings. For intermediate to novice range brewers, I would highly recommend this switch; it has dramatically advanced my brew day and allowed me to introduce even more equipment to my set up. With the addition of these new toys comes the potential of a new miscue. You would think, that over the years I would have figured out how much more vigilance adding new equipment requires. I get so caught up with using my new toys that it inevitably guarantees a brew day issue.
pumpkin-puree-baking-2190.jpg

A Good Recipe Adds Interest To Your Brewday
My first issue with this particular brew had nothing to do with the actual brew day, but the days leading up to it. I was so fixated on getting all the new connections hooked up, that I forgot to check my supplies. Since I was making a pumpkin beer I wanted to mash the puree with the grains; I discovered this to be the best way for me while I was doing Brew in a Bag (BIAB). I grabbed my scale in order to measure the out the pumpkin puree. Turns out the scale was dead, and I was out of 9V batteries. I was off to the gas station for batteries. Upon my return, I realized I only had about 60oz of the necessary 90oz of pumpkin puree; off to the store again for more pumpkin puree. At this point, I should have cut my losses and delayed the brewday, but I was determined to use my new toys!
pumpkin-beer-ingredients-2-2191.jpg