Suggestions on Ale styles i may like

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Romex2121

Reaction score
Im new to Ales and home brewing so im not sure what styles may be to my liking , so far im liking the American Wheats with
Bell's Orberon style being my favorite , ive also tryed an American Pale Ale (DME) kit that wasn't to bad ,,
I do not like the heavy hopped IPA beers
(to me) their to strong and bitter..
I guess im looking for a clean , crisp style with a nice balance of flavor from the grains & hops something thats refreshing and not to heavy also has an ABV of around 5.0% to 5.8% , im not really set up to do Lagers YET so im looking mainly for Ale suggestions...
what styles of ales would you suggest for AG brewing ? Blondes ? Wheats ? Pale Ales , Etc etc

Blonde Ale, Amer Wheat, British Golden Ale, Amer Amber Ale, Irish Red Ale, Amer Brown Ale, Scottish Export 80/-, Milk Stout, Oatmeal Stout, etc, etc.

Cream ale
Belgian blonde
Belgian dubbel
Hefeweizen
American wheat
Kölsch
Irish red
Lager - vienna
Lager - helles / maibock
Seasonal - Fall/Winter spiced ales
Sour beer of any kind

Last edited:
The best thing you can do (aside from letting total strangers on an internet forum tell you what you like) is to try everything you can find. There are a couple of well stocked beer and wine stores within reasonable driving distance from me and I have a rule never to leave without something I've never tried before. I've encountered some clunkers and I've found some pleasant surprises. You've already discovered for yourself one or two that you like... make those a couple of times and in the interim try new things.

^ that's good advice except it's maybe better to hit some local breweries and get some flights (bring a DD).