Suggestions for a small batch IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hoppah

Reaction score
Looking to brew something from scratch but I've never done it before and am not really sure where to start so I was looking for suggestions. I love IPAs (nice and hoppy) so that would be a good starting place.

I dont have equipment for a large batch so only looking to do a couple gallons.

Just curious if someone has a recipe that they love and an online source for supplies to ship to Canada.

Thanks in advance everyone!

I brew a 5.5 gallon IPA and it is really good. You could just cut this in half.

10# 2 row
2 # munich light
.5# crystal 10

My hop additions were
Magnum , Denali, Enigma, Azacca, lemon drop and citra.

Any suggestions for a beginner's guide to actually doing it? Haha, I've never brewed a batch with the exception of the pre-packaged wort kits.

Anyone know of a good site for ordering within Canada?

You can def find some great online resources for beginners. If you’re a quick learner this was a tremendous resource when I was beginning
image.jpg

That's a great question Dgallo...whereas it's my first I'm not sure. Would you suggest extract for first time?

I've done the premade wort kits before (festabrew) but that is it.

Here's my latest IPA. 3.75gal. Mind you 2lbs Golden Light DME and Wheat DME will get you in the same ballpark. Also, I used Azacca instead of Simcoe. I'm digging it!

Additional notes. 10min boil. Used 4gal RO water, .5tsp Gypsum, 1tsp Calcium Chloride, and 1.1ml Lactic acid. Ensure you keep oxygenation at a minimum during secondary. Hope this helps.
20190917_202755.jpeg

That's a great question Dgallo...whereas it's my first I'm not sure. Would you suggest extract for first time?