Strange Throat Swelling when using Stainless Steel

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmcrider

Reaction score
I am having a very unique problem. I started brewing at my office about a year ago. In the last 3 months I have upgraded to Stainless Steel Blichman Ferminators, as well as Kegco 5 gal. Homebrew kegs. When I taste the beer from the Stainless steel, at any time after the initial fermentation, a strange swelling occurs in the throat. There is no airway restriction happening, only difficulty swallowing and pressure on the throat right where the adam's apple is.

I started brewing batches in my original glass carboys in the same manner I would the Blichmann. No issues at all, as long as I bottle. But once I put the finished beer into a keg, I get the exact same problem with throat swelling.

What is happening here? Any ideas? I use PBW to clean all equipment and rinse completely. I use Starsan as a soak sanitizer in the recommended 1 oz. to 5 Gallon Ratio. I am not allergic to beer or hops or anything of the sort. Again, when I have the beers that are fermented in glass, I have no issues. This is clearly something that is happening when they touch Stainless.

So far only one other person has tried any of these beers. He sipped before I did and noticed the swelling first. I thought he was crazy until I felt it too.

I have no idea what this could be...if a friend is reporting a similar issue clearly something is wrong.

Did this only happen with a single batch?