Stout Tap

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
I'm having problems with my stout tap. I have a robust porter on it right now, pretty straightforward recipe. I have 60/40 beer gas on it. I have the regulator at 14psi but it always creeps up and sits at 20. 12' of 3/8" beer line.

End result is always a half glass of foam. It pours great for about 4 seconds, mostly beer, small amount of foam, then, suddenly, BAM! The entire glass just turns to foam, and it stays that way. It's hard to explain.

anyone have any ideas?

CO2 - i thought i carbed it pretty low, but I may have over carbed it. I have been bleeding it off often.

Is the restrictor plate installed properly?
Tell us about your system. For instance, it is a regulator connected to tank, then directly to the keg, or are there other things also connected?
The fact that the regulator pressure creeps up suggests to me that it could be defective. Regulators should stay where they are set.
Is the tank inside the cooler? Does the temperature widely fluctuate where the tank is stored?
I'm no expert on these things, but I've never heard of this problem.
How does the beer taste?
If you connect a CO2 source and pour though faucet at the same psi as the mix, does it still foam?
Very strange.

TD

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew

yes, 3/16", thanks for the catch.

This regulator is connected directly to the keg. It's one of these: (http://www.micromatic.com/draft-keg-beer/gas-equipment-pid-GN1773.html)