Stout recipe critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BillBaxter

Reaction score
Hello all. Just wanted the thoughts of the brain trust on an American Stout recipe I developed.

9 lb 2-row malt
1.5 lb caramel 60L
1 lb flaked oats
1 lb chocolate malt
12 oz Munich malt
8 oz carafa 2

60 minute mash at 156° F

1 oz Nugget (13%AA) @ 60 minutes
1.5 oz Willamete (4.8%AA) @ 5 minutes

Safale US-05 yeast

Estimated stats:
OG 1.070
FG 1.021
IBU 45

I'm still fairly new at recipe development and wanted to know if there are any suggestions or red flags that I may have missed.

I think you've got a great porter recipe there. You need 8-12oz of roasted malt to give a stout that bitter malt punch. I'd say take the Crystal to a pound, the chocolate to ten ounces, and then add ten ounces of roasted barley.

I think you've got a great porter recipe there. You need 8-12oz of roasted malt to give a stout that bitter malt punch. I'd say take the Crystal to a pound, the chocolate to ten ounces, and then add ten ounces of roasted barley.

+1 on the roasted barley. It's not really stout without it.

Also, make sure to keep the mash and lauter temps low, astringency jumps out of this if you are not careful.

I will echo what the others have said - give that thing some roasted barley. I agree that at least .5-.75lbs would be good. I'm fermenting an Irish Dry Stout right now and it has 1lb in it.

As others have said, what you have is more of a porter. That's fine but if you want a stout a portion of roasted barley in the dark grist is pretty much a necessity. Except for sweet UK stouts, others like American and Irish stouts are drier and emphasize the roasty aspect so in addition to using some roasted barley I would also cut the crystal way back.