Stout and Porter Tasting Ideas

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mosquitocontrol

Reaction score
So instead of going out to a nice dinner for my birthday this weekend I want to take home my favorite pizza that I can only get a 1-2 times a year (Caserta's in Providence) and have mini stout tasting. I did one with my friend at the beginning of the year. But I was not fond of stouts then. Nearly all were all results of expensive beer trading and by the end of the night I admit I had forgotten pretty much all of the names.

Anyway, lately I've been craving stouts and porters, especially with fall here. I want to brew a bunch in the near future but I'm still learning what I like. I'm thinking of getting 6-12 beers and having a mini tasting so I figured I'd get some input from everyone here. Hopefully I can get a pretty broad spectrum. Needs to be something I can find at Total Wine or equivalent. In general I like the stouts that have obvious flavors. Think oatmeal, coffee, cream, chocolate, etc. But I'm open to try some more original of the style. Any ideas appreciated.

goose island oatmeal stout is a classic.
sprecher's RIS
sierra nevada porter
flying dog gonzo porter

the key to darker beers is temp. like, 45F minimum. i wouldn't touch sprecher's RIS until it's at least 50F.

My personal #1 Porter : Bells Porter
My personal #1 Stout : Terrapin Coffee Oatmeal Imperial Stout.

Hmmmmm... these are my reco's:

PORTER
Great Lakes Brewing - Edmund Fitzgerald
Samuel Smith's - The Famous Taddy Porter
Bell's Brewery - Porter
Smuttynose - Baltic Porter (drink SLOWLY hehe)

STOUT
North Coast Brewing - Old Rasputin RIS (also very strong, drink slowly/small)
Samuel Smith's - Oatmeal Stout (fantastic)
Sierra Nevada - Stout
Rogue - Shakespeare