Starting from slants - initial cell count?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Argyll Gargoyle

Reaction score
I’m a homebrew noob learning to be a yeast rancher. I followed the instructions on inoculating slants from the sticky thread in this forum - so far so good.
It looks like the usual way to create a starter from said slants is to use the entire slant.

First question: what is a good assumption for initial cell count (per unit area of the slant surface)?
Second question: how do I determine how many steps my starter needs, and the optimal volumes for these steps?

Thanks

I’m a homebrew noob learning to be a yeast rancher. I followed the instructions on inoculating slants from the sticky thread in this forum - so far so good.
It looks like the usual way to create a starter from said slants is to use the entire slant.

First question: what is a good assumption for initial cell count (per unit area of the slant surface)?
Second question: how do I determine how many steps my starter needs, and the optimal volumes for these steps?

Thanks

A good rule of thumb is to start with 10mL of wort and never increase the volume by more than a factor of 10 in a single step. So 10mL, 100mL, 1L, 2L is not unreasonable

I still want my UV-Vis Spectrometer.....that way i could work on my protein purification skills, and make my own gluco!

Thanks for the guidance on starter volumes - the 10x progression seems pretty reasonable.

I might try some cell counts to get a ballpark number for cells in a slant — microscope is on order. Any recommendations on how to approach this? I would probably start some new slants, trying to cover as much of the surface as possible. Might need to experiment with how many days to let them grow, temperature, etc