Starting first brew tonight

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Total brewing newbie here, I have been toying with the idea for ages but have been too lazy to do anything about it!

Finally gave in last week and bought some equipment and a beer kit (figured it would make sense to start with a kit to begin with)

I bought the following stuff and also bought and after reading up on a few things I bought an aquarium heater as the room I am using can get pretty damn cold at times.

http://www.geterbrewed.com/get-er-brewed-complete-starter-kit
http://www.geterbrewed.com/cortez-gold-mexican-cerveza

Has anyone got any tips for me, I'm pretty much winging it at the minute and any help that can stop this first batch tasting like piss would be much appreciated!

Also if anyone has tried the above beer kit it would be great to find out what it should taste like.

Cheers!

I don't see anything wrong with either the equipment nor the ingredient kit. They should get you started just fine. From the little information I could find on the kit I would assume that it includes an ale yeast. While ale yeasts do not require the colder temperatures of the lager yeasts, keeping them cool does make better tasting beer. Try to keep the temperature in the low to mid 60's F (16 to 18 C) during the intial part of the fermentation (4 or 5 days) and then warm it up slightly to encourage the yeast to complete the ferment. Don't rush your beer. It will take 5 to 6 weeks for your beer to ferment, carbonate, and mature. Hurrying your beer will give you less than desirable results. I usually leave mine in the fermenter for about 3 weeks before bottling. Use your hydrometer to make sure the yeast is finished before you bottle too.