Starter question.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCrazy84

Reaction score
Hey, I am a total noob with application, but I have read 2 books on homebrewing and finally bit the bullet and invested in equipment.

My first beer is going to be a very ambitious Tripel, with an SG in the vicinity of 1.085. Now, I know I need to make a starter. I have seen all the calculators and the like linked on the forum, but I have just a very practical question.

I only have 8oz of DME right now left (the rest is reserved for the brew) and I have a Wyeast Trappist High Gravity (3787) pack in my fridge right now. Tuesday evening, I am going to activate it, and Wednesday I was planning on making a wort for the yeast.

Would I be better off splitting the DME into two 4oz "servings" for the yeast, or throwing all of the DME at once. (i.e., making a wort with 4oz on wed, pitching the yeast, making another wort with 4oz on thurs, and adding it to the starter OR just all 8oz at once.)

For what it is worth, I plan on brewing on Saturday afternoon.

Thank you in advance. I am going to bed here soon, so I probably will not reply until morning when I wake up, but I appreciate anyone who helps!

It seems that you already have your ingredients so I'll save the "start with a more simple beer" speech and just say your in for a steep learning curve. Starters are tricky and have to be done right. I'll let someone else answer that. But if you tell us about your recipe I'm sure you'll get some other great advice. Oh and welcome!

You'd be better off using a pitch rate calculator, figuring out exactly how much yeast you need and how much starter to make, and doing that. :)