Starter Question.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

browillard

Reaction score
Hello all,

I was just reading in the latest BYO Magazine about a recipe in a previous issue that called for a 4 GAL starter in a 5 GAL batch.

How does that work?

I am very new to brewing and and only used a starter on my last two batches of beer, a pilsner and a hefe. I used a 2 L and 1 L starter for each respectively.

I just left out that amount of wort to "top off" with the starter. Is that the correct method?

Please enlighten me...

I was actually going to start a thread about that BYO item.

In that case the 4 gallon starter would be allowed to ferment out completely, then chilled. The yeast would fall out of suspension, at which point the beer would be discarded and the yeast slurry pitched into the 5 gallon batch. So you have made 9 gallons of beer to get 5. It's one of the reasons I mostly use dry yeast for my lagers.

Most people would make a starter from DME (sometimes LME if that's all you have). If you go to http://www.mrmalty.com/starter_faq.php there is very good information on yeast starters that answers most common questions.

Not sure what the recipe is for... but I'm assuming its a fairly high OG lager? If so make a smaller starter and brew a lower gravity beer in the 1040s, then use that whole yeast cake for your 5 gallons of the beer listed in the article. Should be spot on for cell counts. And you will have made 2, 5 gallon lagers :)

I just left out that amount of wort to "top off" with the starter. Is that the correct method?

If you're doing a 1L starter for a 5g (~20L) batch, then you can pitch the spent starter liquid (beer) w/o much flavor impact.