Start a Brew Rig on a Budget

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

torontosudz

Reaction score
I'm an enthusiastic beginner. I have a budget of up to $1k USD to get started - how should I spend it? Currently I have a 5g brew pot, an Ale Pail and bottling bucket, a 5g glass carboy and a few odds and ends (basic siphon hose, etc).

For now I'm doing extract brewing but I'm hopeful to graduate to partial or AG brewing at some point, after I have the basics down.

Start with fermentation control and then full boil volumes. Get a chest freezer and a 15g pot. I'd then look to a chiller of some sort, quickly cooling wort would be your next best direction. I'd recommend listing to the Brew Strong podcast on equipment, they did a very good "what order should I buy stuff" segment and i have found it very true.

I'm an enthusiastic beginner. I have a budget of up to $1k USD to get started - how should I spend it? Currently I have a 5g brew pot, an Ale Pail and bottling bucket, a 5g glass carboy and a few odds and ends (basic siphon hose, etc).

For now I'm doing extract brewing but I'm hopeful to graduate to partial or AG brewing at some point, after I have the basics down.

If I were you, hit up this deal right now, to get a couple of more fermenters for a good price.

http://www.midwestsupplies.com/page..._campaign=20131106+-+BOGO+PET+Carboy+48+Hours

Get yourself a good 10 gallon or larger brew pot. 12+ gallons would be recommended, since at some point, you may be making a larger stout, or similar, where you may be boiling 8 gallon or so at the start.

Pick yourself up a couple of things of StarSan or Iodopher now, to make sure you don't run out of them.

Buy a refractometer(~$40+).