Stages of coffee roasting - pros and cons of longer/shorter durations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kealia

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to roasting on our Behmor 1600+, having bought it in October. I know there are a number of new folks as well so I thought some discussion on the various stages of roasting would be valuable.

So, thinking about drying, Maillard reaction and development stages....let's start with the most basic of questions: Are those the right terms for the 3 stages?

Since that was an easy one, let's start by focusing on this:
What are the pros/cons of a longer vs shorter drying stage? Meaning, assuming I stop two roasts at the same point in the roast (let's say Full City), what would be the difference between roast #1 that had a drying stage that lasted 4 minutes versus roast #2 that had a drying stage that lasted 6 minutes?

I've done some searching and wasn't able to find much more information other than descriptions of the stages, but little actual discussion. If there is a resource out there and anybody has links, please do provide them.

Hopefully this can be an on-going discussion about stage lengths and pros vs. cons.

Cheers.,

Hmmm, maybe I am the only one thinking about this. That can't be!

Excellent, thanks for the references. I'll check those out then come back with any discussion points, etc.

Cheers.

Ok ,so far I've listened to/watched the first three episodes of the Roaster School Online and it's great. I can see where some people will feel that it is complete overkill, but I like getting this view of what's going on. It's interesting to see the similarities to home brewing (beer) as well. Actually, now that I say that...this reminds of reading Palmer's "How to Brew when I started making beer.