Ss Brewtech 15 gallon Electric Kettle Conversion

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tofuguy

Reaction score
Being an electrical engineer, I decided to dip my big toe into the electric brewing world with upgrading my 8 gallon economy kettle with a 15 gallon Ss Brewtech Kettle along with a 5500W all stainless steel element from Brewhardware.com. I already have a 240v 30a outlet in my garage for EV charger, just had to swap breakers to GFCI.

I created a very simple controller with a SSR-VR, 500k potentiometer, and LED. A very simple variable controller. I purchased all parts ala carte to keep my cost down. I also choose twist lock connectors instead of outlets to save on cost.

I have tested everything with 4 gallons of water so far. No issues (leaks/shorts). I cannot wait for my first brew day this weekend. I will be sure to post pictures.

View attachment 1488330018631.jpg

View attachment 1488330030869.jpg

View attachment 1488330042188.jpg

Nice job on the build! I am actually thinking about doing a 5 gallon BIAB setup so I can go test batches. before committing to 10 gallons on my HERMS. Can you share the details on your controller?

Cheers

Thank you! Here is a very crude schematic. You just have to manage 3 wires (L1, L2 and GND) since there is no need for N in this setup. No bells and whistles here, just pure function. I hope in years to come to build a nice control panel when I go to a 3 kettle system indoors. As long as I am out in the garage, this will have to do. (I still want to park 2 cars in the garage, so move a 3 kettle system from the basement to garage is not something I want to do)

Parts List:
40A SSR-VR
Enclosure (Junction Box from Big Box Store) - I chose as small as possible 6x6x4 inch