Spunding Valves: Gravity points to PSI conversion?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

isomerization

Reaction score
I am just getting into using a spunding valve. With the first batch I used it on, I transferred to a corny once primary fermentation appeared to be slowing down (gravity was at 1.020, expected to hit 1.015-1.018, mash temp hit 156F urgh) and added the spunding valve.

So far, 48 hours later (at 70F), I have 8 psi built up. My questions is this, is there an easy way to convert between changes in gravity and psi generated? I realize temperature is a variable here as well, so could just be a rough approximation. Thanks!

I don't think there is an easy way...
I am sure you could do it with some complicated math in a spreadsheet but you will need to have really good numbers on your head space volume.
Yeast also produce differing amounts of C02 based on what they are eating (maltose vs fructose vs glucose).
There is some science in the web on using yeast to produce C02 for aquarium use (growing algae) that may help.
If you build one, I would love to see it.

Oops, misunderstood the question slightly, so editing.

Equilibrium carbonation works the same as for force carbing kegs, and gravity points turn to CO2 roughly the same as for priming with malt extract.