Splenda?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi there-
I am fairly new to kegging root beer, but thought I had it dialed in... so tried Splenda cup for cup in my root beer... it just isn't the same. The whole family is now complaining that the taste is "off". Hope that helps a little. :)

I've done half & half (sugar and splenda), it's better than going straight splenda, but you can still tell that it has that artificial sweetener taste.

I've done half & half (sugar and splenda), it's better than going straight splenda, but you can still tell that it has that artificial sweetener taste.

The active ingredient, stevia extract, in Splenda is natural and therefore, by definition, Splenda does not have an "artificial sweetener taste." Splenda just has a undesirable unsugar-like taste mostly due to a very long sweet aftertaste.

I put just a little bit of Splenda in my 2nd apfelwein, thinking it would give some residual sweetness. Mistake. Did not like that batch near as much.

The active ingredient, stevia extract, in Splenda is natural and therefore, by definition, Splenda does not have an "artificial sweetener taste." Splenda just has a undesirable unsugar-like taste mostly due to a very long sweet aftertaste.

Splenda is not stevia.

Splenda is a brand name for sucralose and was on the market for a little while before stevia extract based sweeteners were even approved, so I'm not sure where you're getting that. I've worked with sucralose, aspartame, stevia glycosides, and a little bit of ace k, and all of them seem to have a lingering aftertaste, though I would agree that stevia seems to taste the cleanest. (Even if everything tastes sweet all day long after you breathe in that powder).