Specific gravity questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smoketer10

Reaction score
I was wondering if my starting gravity after batch sparging should be different from my after boil gravity (og vs bg) . I am new to this, just brewed my second batch, a red ale, and the two gravity readings were the same 1.047. I have heard that it should go up but can't find anything about it anywhere? Thanks for the help in advance...Chris

well, I am new to this as well. But,from what i know, during your boil your losing quite a bit of liquid to evaporation, leaving behind the sugars. So you have a higher sugar content in a smaller amount of wort. Thus, higher gravity.

Did you adjust for temp? Did you stir your wort pre boil? You can get stratification of gravities if you don't. Have you calibrated your hydrometer?

As likeziegler said, because you decrease volume during the boil (evaporation) and lose no sugar, the gravity will increase. This increase will be directly proportional to the volume that you lose.

I was with Chris on that day and it confused the heck out of me also. We did two batches, both a red ale. The one I did the SG of pre-boil and post boil changed, while the one that Chis did did not. He did stir and mix very well his pre-boil, that I don't believe was the the issue. We both used the same hydrometer so while I had two different readings and he did not is confusing the heck out of me. I know that with evaporation that the post boil should of gone up. Temp was adjusted for on both pre and post.