Sparge sticks in 5gal MLT but not in 10gal. Any ideas?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Here's one for you. I've been mashing in a converted 10gal Home Depot cooler for several years now. I get consistently good brewhouse efficiency (70-80%) and haven't experienced a single stuck sparge, even with large percentages of wheat, rye, or oats. I batch sparge with this lauter screen from Bargain Fittings and a weldless bulkhead/valve kit from the same vendor. I couldn't be happier, except it doesn't maintain temperatures as well for small grain bills (<1.045ish) as for larger ones due to the headspace.

So, I decided to build a second MLT from a 5gal Home Depot cooler. I used exactly the same components as for the 10gal, except I had to shorten the kettle screen to make it fit in the cooler. I just snipped a couple of inches off the end and crimped it. Otherwise, it's the same setup as above, just smaller scale.

However, every time I've mashed in this smaller cooler, the sparge has either stuck, or the runoff has been exceptionally slow. I've eliminated just about every variable I can think of, and I still can't figure out what might be causing it. I can look straight down the barrel of the ball valve and see the lauter screen when the tun is empty. And the screen doesn't collapse at all under the weight of the grain. I've only been able to save my sparges by blowing into the silicone tubing and vorlaufing again. I may have to do this 4 or 5 times during the sparge.