Souring a stout

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AGBrewer

Reaction score
Going to do a ten gallon batch of O'flannagains standard stout, I want to sour half of it. Is it benefitial or necessary to add the soured 24oz back to the fermenter before, after, or during fermentation of the unsoured portion? I have never done a soured beer before(at least not on purpose!) so I am excited to try it. Thanks

Do you mean that you want to let half of a 5 gallon batch sit out and sour? I don't understand. You sour a batch. Did you split it into 2 fermenters? If so I would set out 1/2 as much to sour.

What I would recommend is to take a small portion of the malt, grind it, throw it in like a 1.5 ratio with 130 °F water and set it in a warm place. An oven with the light on should work fine. In about 24 hours you will have gotten fairly sour, taste a little to see. The longer you go the more sour. You want to boil the resulting strained liquid to kill off any Lactobacillus. It sounds like you are doing partial mash?

I'd say to get the proper amount of sour you want about oh maybe 2 lbs or so of it for a 10 gallon batch. The thing is this, and the reason I say to strain the liquid and boil, is I am not sure how you should proceed if this isn't an AG batch. With Ag, what I would do is mash normally with the remaining part of the recipe, and sparge the soured mash seperately.