Sour question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wolves63

Reaction score
I have been making beer for about 3 years now and the idea of brewing and aging sours really has started to intrigue me. I do enjoy sours beers so I do know what I am getting into as for flavor. I am thinking of putting together a sour here soon and I am wanting to age it at least 18 months.

I am pretty sure I know what I am wanting to do for the primary fermentation, and I know that I want to use a low intensity brett, but I haven't been able to decide between:
Lactobacillus Brevis
Lactobacillus Delbruekii
Pediococcus

I would like to get experiences and ideas as well as suggestions regarding your sour knowledge. Which is best without fruit, and which is best with fruit?

I will post my recipe once I figure out which strain I will be using.

There are lots of commercial blends that take all the guesswork out of it. Choose any recipe, mash high, keep IBUs low, pitch the blend (no starter necessary), and wait.

Pitch in bottle dregs from some of your favorite sour beers to diversify even further. Oh, and buy Oldsock's book "American Sour Beers".

Also, buy several more fermentors and make as many batches as you have space for. Once you wait 18 months, you wont want to wait another 18 months for another batch. Get a few going at least, and get new ones started often.

The plan is to start a full sour program with multiple going at a time.

I have looked at blends, but the problem I have with them is that I would not be able to do yeast slanting as it would alter the percentages. I am wanting something I can do and keep consistency. Take the slant, run a small starter, then pitch it during secondary fermentation.