Sour Blonde Ale w/fruit - fermentation question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NBBC13

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for 9 years now, but am trying my first sours this year and wanted to hear some opinions. I brewed a 10 gallon batch of sour blonde then split it up for two different sours, see below.

My question, it's been 3 months and 1 week since I added the fruit and Lambic. The taste is pretty good, but not ready yet. SHould I continue to age in fermenter until the taste is where I want it? Or should I bottle it and try it once a month?

12 lbs pilsner malt
8 lbs white wheat
2 lbs flaked wheat
2 lbs flaked red wheat

1.5 oz Hallertauer - aged on fridge in brown bag for 3 months

In fermenter, dropped temp to 69 degrees, used two packs US-05 Safele
after 12 days, split into 2 wide mouth bubbler fermenters
In each, added 1 pouch Wyeast Lambic blend
and following fruit (all organic, chopped and frozen night before)
- 1st batch 4 lbs peaches
- 2nd batch 5.6 lbs strawberries and 1.5 lbs kiwi

swirl fermenter once/week

If you're not taking gravity readings, everything's a guess at this point. My guess is that you should let it go in the fermenter for 6 more months. Bugs in the lambic blends don't come into their own until after 6 months, and that's just flavor-wise. You just added more fermentables, so you should wait a while until that additional fermentation finishes up. Start taking grav readings if you haven't yet.