Some odd yeast behavior

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andrew5329

Reaction score
So I recently started brewing, my first batch was an amber all-malt kit, everything went smoothly and made great beer. So, for my second batch I decided to make a holiday beer recipe.

The recipe was a fairly standard mostly malt-extract brew with some crystal malt and chocolate malt grains for flavor. The spices I used were Orange zest, cinnamon and ginger as primary spices.

Boiled everything together following directions and proper sanitation, ect... At the end, I became somewhat pressed for time (bringing a brew-pot to boil outdoors in New-England during late fall took quite some time) so in my haste I pitched my yeast somewhat early (probably about 80-85 degrees Farenheight...) and I also left a muslin bag w/ the spices, and one muslin bag with the boiling hops in the fermenter when I sealed it.

The first odd behavior was that Fermentation really didnt get started untill day 4-5 in the fermenter. I hypothesisied that I shocked the yeast by pitching it too warm and decided to keep it in longer than normal to make up for the delayed start.

So here I am 19 days after I first placed my brew in the fermenter (about 14 days after fermentation began) and I open the fermenter to prepare for bottling, and there is yeast caked all over the bags and there is an extraordinary amount still in suspension. I removed the bags which I presume to be my major mistake (somewhat agitating the brew) and I reattatched the cap w/ the airlock.